THE NEMA LITES

The first race in 2014 will be the 84th for the NEMA's Lites, a division formed with economy in mind and designed to provide an avenue into Midget racing for emerging competitors. Starting in 2008, it has proven to be a major success. Six of the top 15 NEMA point getters – Ian Cumens, Todd Bertrand, Seth Carlson, Bethany Stoehr, Anthony Marvuglio and James Santa Maria – cut their teeth in the Lites competition.

Bertrand, Carlson, Stoehr, Marvuglio join Lites' all-time win leader Anthony Nocella on the list of drivers who have won in both divisions. Randy Cabral is on the list.

While there was a Hoosier Tire Challenge Series winner in 2012 (Cumens), Carl Medeiros Jr. was the Lites' first 'count all the races' champion in 2013.

SEASON WIN LEADERS

2008	Jesse State	4
2009	Anthony Nocella	4
2010	Anthony Nocella	3
2011	Anthony Nocella	4
2012	Carl Medeiros Jr.	4
2013	Carl Medeiros Jr.	3

There have been 33 winners starting with State who captured the first "official" Lites race at the Waterford Speedbowl on June 11, 2008.

NEMA Lites Win List

- 11 Anthony Nocella
- 7 Carl Medeiros
- 5 Jesse State, Jake Sergois, P.J. Stergois
- 4 Randy Cabral, Ian Cumens, Avery Stoehr, Russ Wood Jr.
- 3 Ryan Bigelow, Seth Carlson, Paul Luggelle
- 2 Andy Barrows, Todd Bertrand, Danny Cugini, Eddie LeClerc Jr.
- 1 Matt Bettencourt, Paul Bigelow, Scott Bigelow, Alan Chambers, Ryan Duhaime, Shawn Gosselin, Brandon Igo, Kenny Johnson, Anthony Marvuglio, David Moniz, Richie Morocco, Keith Rocco, James SantaMaria, Shawn Torrey, Bethany Viets, Williams Wall, Russ Wood Sr.

Jesse State and Carl Medeiros Jr. share the record for consecutive victories – three. State won the first three races in 2008 while Medeiros did it in 2012, the streak including two in a single meet at Lee

Russ Wood and Russ Wood Jr. is the only father-son combination on the NEMA Lites win-list. There are two brother combinations: the Bigelows (Ryan, Paul and Scott) and the Stergois' (Jake and P.J.)

Participating NEMA Lites Tracks

2013 winner underlined

	Number	Winners
Airborne	1	<u>Ian Cumens</u>
Beech Ridge	3	Matt Bettencourt, Alan Chambers, Carl Medeiros Jr.
Lee	15	3- <u>Carl Medeiros</u> , 3- <u>Jake Stergois</u> , 2- <u>Danny Cugini</u> , 2-Russ Wood Jr., Alan Chambers, Paul Bigelow, Ed LeClerc Jr., Jesse State, Avery Stoehr

Monodnock	5	3 – <u>P.J. Stergois</u> , Todd Bertrand, Anthony Nocella
Oswego	2	Ian Cumens, <u>Richie Morocco</u>
Riverside-Groveton	1	P.J. Stergois
Seekonk	22	5- Anthony Nocella, 2- Seth Carlson, 2-Jesse State, Ryan Bigelow, Randy Cabral, Ian Cumens, Shawn Gosslin, Ed LeClerc Jr., Anthony Marvuglio, David Moniz, James Santa Maria, Jake Stergois, P.J. Stergois, Bethany Viets, William Wall, Russ Wood Sr.
Stafford	1	Avery Stoehr
Star	6	3 - <u>Carl Medeiros Jr., Andy Barrows</u> , Randy Cabral, <u>lan Cumens</u> .
Thunder Road	2	Seth Carlson, Russ Wood Jr.
Twin State	4	Mike Luggelle, Anthony Nocella, Jake Stergois, Russ Wood Jr.
Waterford	21	4 –Anthony Nocella, 2- Ryan Bigelow, 2- <u>Randy Cabral</u> , 2-Jesse State, 2- <u>Avery Stoehr</u> , Andy Barrows, Todd Bertrand, <u>Scott Bigelow</u> , Ryan Duhaime, Brandon Igo, Paul Luggelle, <u>Kenny Johnson</u> , Keith Rocco, Shawn Torrey