redtop left.gif (1869 bytes)

nema title.gif (5215 bytes)

redtop right.gif (1870 bytes)


























































































































































































































home.gif (2228 bytes)






300-MENA-ALONE-Logo.jpg (12577 bytes)



Randy and Glen Cabral Dedicated the Victory to
Henry Cabral
their grandfather and father.

Photos by
NEMA Feature - Twin State - Sun. Oct. 4th
Pos. # Driver Hometown Owner
1 47 Randy Cabral Plymouth, MA Tim Bertrand
2 7ny Adam Cantor Dix Hills, NY Cantor Racing
3 4 Nokie Fornoro Stroudsburg, PA Mike Jarret
4 3m Jim Miller Weymouth, MA Jim Miller
5 A1 Jeff Horn Ashland, MA Jeff Horn
6 45 Russ Stoehr Bridgewater, MA Gene Angelillo
7 99 Chris DeRitis Philadelphia, PA Power Point
Race Cars
8 21 Abby Martino Norfolk, MA Joan Martino
9 16 Matt O'Brien Wilmington, MA Jim O'Brien
77 Barry Canon - Mike Luggelle
2 Lee Bundy Kennebunkport, ME Lee Bundy
26b Greg Stoehr Bridgewater, MA Greg Stoehr
P30 Mike Horn Ashland, MA Mike Horn
29 Bobby Seymour Marlboro, MA Bobby Seymour
9 John Zych Jr. Mendon, MA  John Zych
74 Anthony Marvuglio E. Bridgewater, MA Tim Bertrand
8 Barry Kittredge Marlboro, MA Barry Kittredge


Lites Feature - Twin State - Sun. Oct. 4th
Pos. # Driver Hometown Owner
1 51 Russ Wood Jr.  Pelham, NH Russ Wood
2 29 Anthony Nocella Woburn, MA Matt Seymour
3 11b Jake Stergios Candia, NH Bill Stergios
4 22 Rick Hart Nassau, NY Rick Hart
5 28 Paul Luggelle Holbrook, MA Paul Luggelle
6 36 Eric Cabral Manchester, NH Glen Cabral
7 11w David Rose Jr. Keene, NH David Rose Sr.
8 00 Lanson Fornoro Stroudsburg, PA Paul Luggelle
5c Joey Chick Hubbardston, MA Bob Chick
66l Joe Spinzola Scituate, MA Mike Luggelle
35 Anthony Marvuglio E. Bridgewater, MA Glen Cabral

Cabral Repeats at Twin State,
Wood the Lites Winner

Claremont, NH – Randy Cabral made it two-for-two at Twin State Speedway, winning the rain-shortened 19-lap Northeastern Midget Association segment of Open Wheel Sunday. It was the fifth win of the season for the defending champion and current point leader.

Coming from fifth, Cabral took the lead after a three-lap side-by-side battle with eventual runner-up Adam Cantor (Cantor #7ny). The duel followed a lap 13 restart.

The win keeps Tim Bertrand in the owner’s point lead over Mike Jarret, Nokie Fornoro driving the latter’s car to a third. Jim Miller (Miller #3m) and Jeff Horn (Horn #A1) completed the top five.

The race, ended on a red-flag situation, Mike Horn, Greg Stoehr and Lee Bundy involved in an altercation. A sudden rainstorm appeared before the cleanup was complete.

Cantor, who started third, had the lead immediately, also lost a restart challenge to Cabral on lap five. He immediately got the lead back, however, and was in control when the second yellow flew.

“My car started to get a little tight and that was good for me,” said Cantor, who moved ahead out of turn four. “I was getting faster and faster and he appeared to be getting loose.”

Cantor was “loose off by then,” and “just couldn’t get wide open fast enough” on the restart.

Russ Wood Jr. won the 20-lap NEMA Lites feature. Wood took the lead with an eighth-lap master move. Wood found a hole between leader Rick Hart and Anthony Nocella coming out of four in the caution-free Lites event. It was the first win of the season for the second-generation racer who started on the pole.

The race immediately turned into a four-way battle that continued to the checkered. Anthony Nocella, Jake Stergios and Rick Hart, the latter the only other leader, were in a bunch at the finish.

The NEMA Midgets and the NEMA Lites continue the grand slam season finish at the Oct. 10-11 DAV at Seekonk Speedway.

Twin State Visit Begins
Busy Finish For NEMA

Brockton, MA - The Northeastern Midget Association will close out the season with a grand slam – four headline events starting with Twin State Speedway’s Open Wheel Sunday on Sunday, Oct. 4.

The battle for the owners championship – Tim Bertrand (47) leads Mike Jarret (4) by a scant 18 points – grabs the spotlight as NEMA returns to the Claremont, NH facility. Bertrand’s’ driver Randy Cabral and Jarret’s driver Nokie Fornoro staged a textbook battle in NEMA’s last visit to Twin State.

Following Twin State, NEMA will make traditional October stops at Seekonk Speedway’s DAV (10-11, Thompson Speedway’s World Series (17-18) and Lee USA Speedway’s Oktoberfest (24-25). The NEMA Lites will be part of all the events with the exception of Thompson.

With seven different winners, it has been a very competitive season. There have been six different Lites winners.

Cabral, clearly NEMA’s “Mr. October” in recent years, is the man to beat but capturing a title for his owner motivates Fornoro. The battle for third spot is equally intense, Adam Cantor (7ny) leading Gene Angelillo (45) by 48. Russ Stoehr is Angelillo’s driver.

“It is always a challenging finish for NEMA,” says club president Mike Scrivani Jr. “There are four different race tracks. There is the fastest place we visit and one or two of the most demanding handling wise. We’ve had lots of surprises in October.”

NEMA will be returning to Twin State, Seekonk (where Cabral and Jeff Abold have won) and Lee (Cabral and Jeff Horn). It will be the first visit this year to Thompson. Fornoro, Cantor, and Russ and Greg Stoehr have also won this season.

Cabral carries a comfortable driver’s point lead into October. Fornoro and Russ Stoehr, in second and fourth place, both missed a race because of health problems. Third place Cantor had two devastating results.

There are, however, torrid battles for the rest of the top-10 and top-15 spots in the respective standings. Greg Stoehr, top rookie Chris DeRitis, Erica Santos, John Zych Jr. and Abby Martino, the latter coming off a strong effort at Lee, are all hoping to protect top-10 point positions.

Jeff Horn is the 13th driver to reach 20 on the all-time win list. Ahead of him are Drew Fornoro (84), Dave Humphrey (72), Nokie Fornoro (43), Russ Stoehr (40), Bill Eldridge (33), Johnny Mann (29), Randy Cabral (25), Bobby Seymour (23), Joe Csiki (22) and Lee Smith (21). He joins Johnny Coy on the 20-win level

Drew Fornoro needed only four seasons (1981-1984) to reach 20 wins. Csiki (1961-1965) and Dave Humphrey (1965-1969) need five

Cabral is the only active NEMA driver with a Twin State victory. He is NEMA’s all-time winner at Thompson with seven and sits one behind Fornoro (8) atop the Seekonk win list. Horn’s three wins is tops among active drivers at Lee.

rebullet.gif (1845 bytes)

|| Home | News | Schedule | Results | Points | Roster | Sponsors | Photos | Contacts |