redtop left.gif (1869 bytes)

nema title.gif (5215 bytes)

redtop right.gif (1870 bytes)




































































home.gif (2228 bytes)






300-MENA-ALONE-Logo.jpg (12577 bytes)

June 11th
Twin State NEMA Midgets Winner Randy Cabral #47
Photos by
John DaDalt
NEMA Firsts for Cabral, Honda
Claremont, NH - Randy Cabral ran a Twin State Speedway win streak to three Friday night, capturing the 25-lap Northeastern Midget Association feature in convincing fashion. It was the first-ever win for the Stewart Racing Engines Honda.

Coming from the fourth starting spot, Cabral won a pair of restarts inside two laps en route to his 27th career victory.

Cabral bested pole sitter Jim Miller (Miller 3m), the only other leader, on an 11th lap restart. Yellow, however, flew immediately when Miller spun in turn two and Cabral did it again, this time against Adam Cantor (Cantor 7ny).

The leaders quickly left behind a third place battle between that eventually went to Chris DeRitis (DeRitis 75) over Jeff Horn (Horn A-1). Russ Stoehr (Dumo’s Desire 45) was fifth.

“I really do like this place,” said Cabral, who ran third before grabbing second from Horn in turn one with seven gone. “It is so technical, so much fun.”

The motor, he continued, actually “bogged” on the restart enabling Miller to get a slight edge. The car, however, “was running so well” he was able to move around Miller through one and two.

The win with Honda, which comes in the second race, was “really significant,” offered Cabral. He pointed out the team, notably his dad Glenn, “put so much effort into it over the past year and a half.”

Lee USA Speedway is next for NEMA Friday night, June 24.

RESULTS: 1. Randy Cabral, 2.Adam Cantor, 3. Chris DeRitis, 4.Jeff Horn, 5. Russ Stoehr, 6. Greg Stoehr, 7. Barry Kittredge, 8. Jesse State, 9. Lee Bundy, 10. Jim Miller, 11. Chris Leonard, 12. Paul Scally (DNS), 13. Matt O’Brien (DNS).

Cabral and owner Tim Bertrand swept both NEMA events at Twin State in ’09
Russ Stoehr and Cabral captured the heats…Cabral had the quickest lap in the feature, a 12.539; Cantor’s 12.562 was the fastest in practice
Rookie of the Year candidate Jesse State drove the Andy Shlatz No. 20 to eighth place. The car usually competes with the Lites
Cabral now sits two behind sixth place Johnny Mann on NEMA’s
all-time win list
The Bertrand crew worked on six cars including third place DeRitis.

Twin State NEMA Lites Winner Paul Luggelle #28
Photos by John DaDalt
Luggelle Lites Winner
Claremont, NH - Powered by a $500 “junk yard motor,” Paul Luggelle won the 20-lap NEMA Lites feature Friday night at Twin State Speedway. Luggelle beat back a determined late restart challenge from Todd Bertrand (Bertrand 48).

Russ Wood Jr., in the thick of the late battle as well, was third. Carl Medeiros Jr. and Lanson Fornoro completed the top five.

Luggelle, coming from the fifth starting spot, took the lead from pole sitter and teammate Fornoro in turn one soon after a lap three caution. He left behind a battle between youngsters Fornoro and Bethany Viets.

Starting eighth, Bertrand passed Viets for third in the back stretch with 11 laps gone. Wood soon followed. With five laps left, Bertrand and Wood went on either side of Fornoro exiting four to assume second and third. Yellow flew a lap later.

“I wasn’t too worried,” Luggelle said of the final restart. “I felt if I could in front of him I could get away.” Bertrand, however, gave Luggelle all he could handle, the two battling side-by-side before the latter assumed control.

Luggelle, who lost a motor at Seekonk “before we even got it on the track”, said the Quad 4 motor was “right out of the junk yard just a couple days ago.”

Heat winner Fornoro, the next in line for the legendary racing family, and the heralded Viets made up the front row for the feature. They were both impressive, Viets retiring with mechanical woes after a brief racing confrontation with Wood.

Wood was also a heat winner.

A lap three crash eliminated contenders Anthony Nocella, Randy Cabral and Eric Cabral.

RESULTS: 1. Paul Luggelle, 2. Todd Bertrand, 3. Russ Wood Jr.,
4. Mike Muldoon Jr., 5. Lanson Fornoro, 6. David Monitz,
7. Bethany Viets, 8. Ed Leclerc, 9. Eric Cabral, 10. Anthony Nocella, 11. Randy Cabral, 12. Joey Mucciacciaro.

Cabral, Cantor Lead NEMA
to Twin State Speedway
Brockton, MA - Randy Cabral will be after a third straight Twin State Speedway victory when the Northeastern Midget Association visits the Claremont, NH facility on Friday night, June 12.

Defending two-time champions Cabral and car owner Tim Bertrand swept NEMA’s two 2009 Twin State races. They hope to put Honda in Victory Lane for the first time.

Russ Wood Jr. and Anthony Nocella, both Twin State winners last year, lead the NEMA LITES to the challenging third mile.

Going back to 2005, Adam Cantor has four straight top four finishes at Twin State including a couple of seconds. The Long Islander was second and fourth last season.

Chris Leonard, who hails from nearby Pelham, NH will be aiming for a second straight checkered. Leonard was the winner way back on March 27 at Waterford Speedbowl.

A rain out at Monadnock – ruining a large field and impressive times – has put extra emphasis on Twin State. “A lot of teams have special motivation and everybody is anxious go get going,” says NEMA president Mike Scrivani Jr.

The Stoehr brothers are part of a group of championship contenders that includes Cabral/Bertrand and Cantor. Russ Stoehr hopes to give the Dumo’s Desire #45 team its first ever Twin State victory. Greg Stoehr had a third last year.

Other contenders include Erica Santos, Jeff Horn, Barry Kittredge, Jim Miller, Aaron and Will Wall and Chris DeRitis.

Randy Cabral’s 12.389 was the fastest feature lap at Twin State last year.
Should Russ Stoehr prevail at Twin State it will be the 13th track where he has won at least one feature. He has made only two starts there, both coming last year.
NEMA’s all-time leader in the category is Dave Humphrey with 20 including a victory at Claremont back in 1973, the first-ever visit by NEMA. Drew Fornoro won at 19 different tracks.
Thirty-two years passed between Twin State’s first and second NEMA races, Kyle Carpenter winning the second in 2005. Bobby Santos III was a winner in 2008.

rebullet.gif (1845 bytes)

|| Home | News | Schedule | Results | Points | Roster | Sponsors | Photos | Contacts |