redtop left.gif (1869 bytes)

nema title.gif (5215 bytes)

redtop right.gif (1870 bytes)


















































































































































































































































































home.gif (2228 bytes)






300-MENA-ALONE-Logo.jpg (12577 bytes)

Racing at 6 PM

Photos by John Dadalt 
NEMA Feature - Twin States - Sat., August 6th
Pos. # Driver Hometown Owner
1 47 Randy Cabral Plymouth, MA Tim Bertrand
2 26b Greg Stoehr Bridgewater, MA Greg Stoehr
3 39 Todd Bertrand Suffield, CT Bertrand
4 99 Anthony Nocella Woburn, MA Susan Santa Maria
5 7ny Jeremy Frankoski Huntersville, NC Cantor Racing
6 22 Chris Leonard Pelham, NH Dave Leonard
7 45 Russ Stoehr Lakeville, MA Dumo's Desire Racing
8 25 Keith Botelho Attleboro, MA Russ Stoehr
9 2 Lee Bundy Kennebunkport, ME Lee Bundy
10 30 Paul Scally Raynham, MA Paul Scally
87 Doug Cleveland Sudbury, MA Doug Cleveland
Photos by John Dadalt
LITES Feature - Twin States - Sat., August 6th
Pos. # Driver Hometown Owner
1 71 Seth Carlson Brimfield, MA Gene Feigel
2 50 Carl Medeiros, Jr. Westport, MA Carl Medeiros
3 29 Anthony Nocella Woburn, MA Matt Seymour
4 31 Paul Bigelow Berlin, CT Randy Bigelow
5 81 Andy Barrows New Ipswich, NH Andy Barrows
6 13 Ryan Bigelow E. Hampton, CT Randy Bigelow
7 28 Paul Luggelle Holbrook, MA Paul Luggelle
8 26b Bethany Stoehr Bridgewater, MA MCI Racing/
Greg Stoehr
9 47 Lanson Fornoro Stroudsburg, PA Julia Parker
44 Christian Briggs Mattapoisett, MA Christian Briggs
Cabral and Carlson
Winners at Twin State
Claremont, NH – Randy Cabral’s domination of Twin State Speedway continued Saturday night with a fourth-straight 25-lap Northeastern Midget Association victory on the tricky third mile. Cabral (Bertrand #47) took the lead on a lap 10 restart from teammate Todd Bertrand (Bertrand #39) and went on to his second victory of the year.

“I just like it here,” understated Cabral who had a quarter-lap edge on Greg Stoehr (Stoehr #26b) at the checkered. Bertrand filled out the podium with Anthony Nocella (Santa Maria #99) and Jeremy Frankoski (Cantor #7ny) following.

Starting second, Bertrand grabbed the lead immediately. He was still in command when Jeremy Frankoski, running second, spun in turn four bringing out the only yellow. Cabral was now outside him.

“I asked myself what do I do now?” said Cabral. “Todd is like my little brother.” They battled side-by-side through one and two and down the back before Cabral moved ahead. “The car was really good on the outside,” continued Cabral. “It got better as the race went on. I was able to drive it nice and free.”

Bertrand, who grabbed his first podium, “enjoyed” the brief battle with Cabral – “we actually touched wheels” – and acknowledged “he just out-drove me through three and four.” Chasing Cabral “actually proved “beneficial” added Bertrand.

Greg Stoehr snuck under Bertrand in one on the final lap to claim second. Both Cabral and Greg Stoehr gained on point leader Russ Stoehr (Dumo’s Desire 45), the latter never really finding the set up and finishing seventh.

It was the 32nd career win for Cabral who is now one away from tying Bill Eldridge on the all-time NEMA win list.

Seth Carlson won the rain interrupted 25-lap NEMA Lites feature. Carlson was running second when the race was stopped on lap eight. When it resumed a half hour later (after a strictly stock feature) Carlson took command and romped to victory.

Carlson, a rookie, took second from Paul Bigelow just before the yellow showed stopping the Lites feature. Starting second, Bigelow grabbed the lead but lost it to Carl Medeiros on lap two. Carlson was five lengths behind Medeiros when the yellow showed. A brief shower then sent the Lites off.

Leaving no doubt, Carlson took off at the resumption of the event leaving behind a Medeiros-Anthony Nocella struggle that lasted to the checkered. Paul Bigelow was fourth and Andy Barrows fifth.

The NEMA Midgets return to Waterford Speedbowl’s Wings & Wheels Saturday night for the third annual Gene and Marilyn Angelillo Memorial.

Twin State Looms for NEMA
Brockton, MA – Russ Stoehr takes the Northeastern Midget Association point lead to Twin City Speedway in Claremont, NH Saturday night. Stoehr, who has a 97-point bulge on brother Greg, does not, however, see himself in a position to take anything for granted.

“It’s going to end the season,” offers the defending champ. “You can never really relax.” Both his younger sibling and Randy Cabral are within reach in what has become a very competitive campaign. “

The NEMA Lites, in the midst of a very competitive campaign, make the trip to Twin State as well.

Randy Cabral, who has won three straight at Twin State, has established himself as the master of the tricky third mile. “It’s so demanding, so technical,” says Cabral who’s 12.539 one-lap effort last year in the Bertrand #47 is the track standard.

Picking winners, however, in either NEMA or the Lites, is tricky business. Keith Botelho, last weekend’s Hammond Memorial champ, was the fifth different winner in as many races. Since Greg Stoehr (Dumo’s Desire 45) ran off three straight to open the campaign, Mike Horn (Horn 93x), Greg Stoehr (Stoehr 26b) and Cabral, in addition to Botelho (Stoehr 25, have picked up checkers.

Jeremy Frankoski (Cantor 7ny) and veteran Paul Scally (30) appear ready to join the group. Scally had a best-ever second in his sights at Waterford last week before losing a radiator hose. Frankoski has been quick throughout the year. Other hopefuls include B.J. MacDonald, Anthony Nocella, Chris Leonard, John Zych Jr. and Todd Bertrand.

There are two point struggles going on behind Russ Stoehr. Just 13 points separate Greg Stoehr (949) and Cabral (936) in the tussle for second. Thirty points separate Frankoski (863) and Botelho (838) in fourth and fifth respectively.

Hammond winner Andy Barrows joins Seth Carlson, Russ Wood Jr., Paul Luggelle, Nocella and Ryan Bigelow on this season’s Lites win list. Among those looking to cash in at Twin State are Jim Santa Maria, Joey Mucciacciaro, David Moniz, Bethany Stoehr and Kenny Johnson.

Luggelle, Wood and Nocella have won at Twin State in the past.

rebullet.gif (1845 bytes)

|| Home | News | Schedule | Results | Points | Roster | Sponsors | Photos | Contacts |