redtop left.gif (1869 bytes)

nema title.gif (5215 bytes)

redtop right.gif (1870 bytes)


















































































































































































































































































home.gif (2228 bytes)






Sat. August 25th, 2012
Winner Jim Miller, #3m; and Russ Stoehr #45, 2nd.
Photos by
John Dadalt
NEMA MIDGETS - Oswego - 8/25/12
Pos. # Driver  Hometown Owner
1 3m Jim Miller Weymouth, MA Jim Miller
2 45 Russ Stoehr Bridgewater, MA Dumo's Desire Racing
3 29 Jeff Abold Baldwinsville, NY Jeff Abold
4 71 Seth Carlson Brimfield, CT Gene Feigel
5 47 Randy Cabral Plymouth, MA Tim Bertrand
6 44 Joey Payne Fairlawn, NJ Ed Breault
7 93x Mike Horn Ashland, MA Jeff Horn
8 33 Phl DiMario - Allan Cantor
9 38 Anthony Marvuglio E. Bridgewater, MA Tammy Bourbeau
10 39 Todd Bertrand Suffield, CT Bertrand Motorsports
11 2 Lee Bundy Kennebunkport, ME Lee Bundy
99 Jim Santa Maria Burlington, CT Susan Santa Maria
30 Paul Scally Raynham, MA Paul Scally
9 John Zych Jr. Louisville, KY John Zych Sr.
87 Doug Cleveland Sudbury, MA Doug Cleveland
77 Greg Stoehr Bridgewater, MA Mike Luggelle
HEAT 1: 71-47-29-44-87-38-30(DNF)
HEAT 2: 3m-77-9-33-45-39-93x-99-2
OSWEGO NEMA LITES TOP THREE - L TO R: Avery Stoehr #15b, 3rd:
Winner Ian Cumens #9; and Paul Bigelow #31, 2nd.
Photos by
John Dadalt
NEMA LITES - Oswego - 8/25/12
Pos. # Driver  Hometown Owner
1 9 Ian Cumens Lydell, PA Bobby Seymour
2 31 Paul Bigelow Berlin, CT Randy Bigelow
3 15a Avery Stoehr Lakeville, MA MCI Racing/
Russ Stoehr
4 99 Howie Bumpus - Susan Santa Maria
5 35 Randy Cabral Plymouth, MA Glen Cabral
6 11b Jake Stergios Candia, NH Bill Stergois
7 50 Carl Medeiros, Jr. Westport, MA Carl Medeiros
8 26b Bethany Stoehr Bridgewater, MA MCI Racing/
Greg Stoehr
9 13 Ryan Bigelow E. Hampton, CT Randy Bigelow
10 45 Brandon Igo Wilbraham, MA David Igo
33b Scott Bigelow E. Hampton, CT Randy Bigelow
81 Andy Barrows New Ipswitch, NH Dustin Anderson
51 Danny Cugini Marshfield, MA D.  Cugini
57 Dylan Duhaime Loudon, NH Shawn Duhaime
HEAT 1: 31-13-9-26b-50-33-45
HEAT 2: 81-51-35-99-15a(DNF)-57(DNF)-11b(DNS)
Veteran Racer Jim Miller Dominates In Oswego Speedway NEMA Action
(Oswego NY) It was all about Jim Miller at New York’s historic Oswego Speedway on Saturday evening, as the veteran NEMA racer displayed a dominating performance in capturing the Northeast Midget Association 35-lap feature event.

After setting a new 1-lap track record of 16.94 earlier in the evening, Miller started the feature from the pole position and quickly distanced himself from the competition.

The evening marked Miller’s first trip to victory lane since 2001.

Behind the winner several battles raged during the quick green-to-checker affair. For much of the event it was Russ Stoehr, Seth Carlson, and Joey Payne vying for the runner-up spot.

Point leader Randy Cabral was also in the mix having quickly moved-up before being forced to slow when the #77 of Greg Stoehr broke.

Chasing Miller at the checkers were Russ Stoehr, Jeff Abold, Carlson, and Cabral.

Claming victory in the fast-paced 25-lap NEMA Lites feature was Ian Cummings, followed by Paul Bigelow, Avery Stoehr, James Santa Maria and Randy Cabra

NEMA, and the NEMA Lites Series next return to action at Connecticut’s Waterford Speedbowl on Saturday evening September 1, for the Gene Angelillo Memorial Race. STORY HERE
Miller Dominates NEMA Midget Field
at Oswego Speedway

Stoehr, Payne, Cabral
NEMA Oswego Veterans
Brockton, MA – Russ Stoehr, who has won eight times there, Joey Payne Jr., a two-time winner, and Randy Cabral, who has some near misses, are among the favorites when the Northeastern Midget Association returns to Oswego Speedway Saturday night. NEMA last visited the historic five-eighths oval back in 2005.

The NEMA Lites will be making the trip as well, Oswego looming as the ultimate test for the five-year old division.

While many competitors will be on Oswego’s asphalt for the first time, there are some experienced hands. Current competitors Adam Cantor, Payne, Cabral and Doug Cleveland were all on hand when supermodified ace Chris Perley won the last NEMA race at Oswego in Don Berrio’s #2.

Considering Payne, an old hand at Oswego, turned 17.1 seconds laps en route to a victory in 2004, speeds in the 16 seconds bracket are probable.

Stoehr’s last win came in 2001. Still, the strategy that carried him to all those wins no doubt remains the same. “It’s a big rhythm track,” he offered a decade ago. “I’ve had a lot of success there because I pass on the outside. Guys that get down in the groove can’t do that. Actually, it’s a pretty easy place to drive. If you make a mistake at Oswego, there’s usually room to get out of it.”

And, sometimes there isn’t. Stoehr had a devastating crash at Oswego in 2002, a race won by Drew Fornoro.

Stoehr’s Dumo’s Desire team, an extention of the Angelillo operation, also has eight Oswego checkereds.

Cabral, locked in another point battle with Stoehr, came within a whisker of an Oswego win in 2003, crashing while in the lead. The three-time and defending champ was second in ’02, fourth in ’04 and 11th in ’05.

John Zych Jr., Greg Stoehr, Mike Horn, Cantor, Seth Carlson, Cabral and Anthony Marvuglio all hope to become NEMA’s first two-time winner this season. Horn has been impressive on big tracks with wins at Thompson and Stafford Speedways in the last two seasons.

Other contenders include Jim Miller, Paul Scally and Todd Bertrand.

It will be a first-time experience for most of the Lite cars. The division has been dominated by youngsters like most recent winner Avery Stoehr (Russ’ son), three-time winner Carl Medieros Jr., Ian Cumens, Dylan Duhaime, Bethany Stoehr and Danny Cugini.

NEMA Winners at Oswego
No. - Driver - First Win - Last Win
8 - Russ Stoehr - 1995 - 2001
4 - Drew Fornoro - 1990 - 2002
2 - Joey Coy - 1992 - 1993
2 - Nokie Fornoro - 1991 - 1999
2 - Joey Payne - 2003 - 2004
One-time winners: Howie Bumpus (1999), Lou Cicconi Jr. (1996), Chris Perley (2005), Bob Resco Jr. (1999), Mike Roselli Jr. (2000)

|| Home | News | Schedule | Results | Points | Roster | Sponsors | Photos | Contacts |